Skip to main content

Governor Newsom Signs Assembly Member Santiago’s Legislation to Build More Homeless Housing Faster

For immediate release:

(Los Angeles, CA) Following Governor Newsom’s signing of AB 785 (sponsored by Mayor Karen Bass), author Assembly Member Miguel Santiago (D-Los Angeles) released the following statement:

“Homelessness here in Los Angeles is an urgent emergency. We must build more homeless housing ASAP,” said Assembly Member Santiago.

“That’s why we are thrilled that AB 785 has been signed. It will help expedite affordable housing, permanent supportive housing, shelters, and transitional housing for youth in Los Angeles. We must reduce the number of people becoming homeless and connect people currently experiencing homelessness to essential services. We need to remove all barriers and speed up all our efforts to put a roof over every head in Los Angeles.”

“Today is another positive step forward in our effort to urgently confront the homelessness crisis in Los Angeles,” said Mayor Karen Bass. “By streamlining the construction of affordable housing, low-barrier navigation centers, supportive housing and transitional housing, we will be able to bring more unhoused Angelenos inside, faster. The bill signed today further signifies our effort to lock arms across all levels of government to confront the homelessness crisis with the urgency required – and that is exactly what we will continue to do. My thanks to Governor Newsom and Assemblymember Santiago for their leadership on this critical issue.”

AB 785 provides California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA) exemptions for certain activities undertaken by the City and County of Los Angeles and other eligible public agencies to streamline the construction of affordable housing, low barrier navigation centers, supportive housing, and transitional housing for youth and young adults.

Assembly Member Miguel Santiago is the Chair of the Assembly Committee on Governmental Organization. He represents the 54th District composed of the cities of Los Angeles, Commerce, Montebello, and Vernon.